Introducing Team Orange: D. Savannah George

Get to know, D. Savannah George! She’s been a wonderful cheerleader for the Orange Karen anthology. She’s even hosted an interview series of authors on her own blog that you can check out and get to know the authors even better!

Author Name:  D. Savannah George

Title of Short Story:   There is Such a Thing as Too Much Orange  (my working title was “Jessie Turns Orange”.)

In 25 words or less tell me what this story is about:   Jessie wakes up in a stranger’s basement after a night of partying. A very orange basement, with an equally orange guy.

How did you come up with the concept for the story?  Jessie is the main character from my WIP, and she’s always getting herself into some sort of trouble. Making her experience a lot of orange just worked.

What prompted you to submit your story to the Orange Karen Anthology? Writing is a solitary occupation. But if you find a group of other writers to support you, and cheerlead for you when something goes well, and listen when you’re having a bad day… well, then you’re truly blessed. Karen is a part of one of those groups for me. I don’t have money to pay her medical bills, but I can give my words.

Tell us one thing about yourself that we wouldn’t know about you from reading your bio:  I like to sleep with tons of pillows and blankets. The more, the better. And I have to take a pillow and blankie with me when I travel. Even the best hotels have crappy pillows.

What is your favorite “orange” item (it could be a food, an object…sky’s the limit)?  This will sound … punny… but the sun. Why? It brings us warmth and light, and I love drawing/painting suns, most of ‘em orange. (Like the image I’ve included, one of my WhymsieBee oil pastel drawings.)

whymsie008

If you had to use your favorite “orange” item to save the world, what would you do with it?  Ha! Guess I should have read this question before I answered the previous one. I would use it to shine light in dark places.

Who inspires you? I’m inspired by people who have the courage to speak out against injustice and to talk about the bad experiences in their lives. Why? Because it reminds me I’m not alone, and every time we talk about the bad, we lessen its power over us.

Bio:

dg_195

D. Savannah George is a multi-disciplinary artist – she writes, paints, crochets, takes photographs, and makes beaded jewelry, bookmarks, and notecards. She has published several short stories and a number of poems, as well as numerous articles in various newspapers and magazines, and has won several awards for her writing. Her first book, A Spicy Secret, #22 in the Annie’s Attic Mystery Series, was released in December 2012. She also serves as a book editor for authors and several small publishers.

One thought on “Introducing Team Orange: D. Savannah George

  1. Pingback: #TeamORANGE: What’s your favorite line? | Orange Karen Tribute Anthology

Leave a Reply

